

PerFail 2024

Third International Workshop on Negative Results in Pervasive Computing - Welcome and Committees

Peltonen, Ella; Mohan, Nitinder; Zdankin, Peter; Josten, Malte; Shreedar, Tanya; Shreedhar, Tanya; Bayhan, Suzan; Berrocal, Javier; Ding, Aaron Yi; More Authors

10.1109/PerComWorkshops59983.2024.10502953

Publication date

2024

Document Version

Final published version

Published in

2024 IEEE International Conference on Pervasive Computing and Communications Workshops and other Affiliated Events, PerCom Workshops 2024

Citation (APA)

Peltonen, E., Mohan, N., Zdankin, P., Josten, M., Shreedar, T., Shreedhar, T., Bayhan, S., Berrocal, J., Ding, A. Y., & More Authors (2024). PerFail 2024: Third International Workshop on Negative Results in Pervasive Computing - Welcome and Committees. 2024 IEEE International Conference on Pervasive Computing and Communications Workshops and other Affiliated Events, PerCom Workshops 2024, 38-39. https://doi.org/10.1109/PerComWorkshops59983.2024.10502953

Important note

To cite this publication, please use the final published version (if applicable). Please check the document version above.

Other than for strictly personal use, it is not permitted to download, forward or distribute the text or part of it, without the consent of the author(s) and/or copyright holder(s), unless the work is under an open content license such as Creative Commons.

Takedown policyPlease contact us and provide details if you believe this document breaches copyrights. We will remove access to the work immediately and investigate your claim.

Green Open Access added to TU Delft Institutional Repository 'You share, we take care!' - Taverne project

https://www.openaccess.nl/en/you-share-we-take-care

Otherwise as indicated in the copyright section: the publisher is the copyright holder of this work and the author uses the Dutch legislation to make this work public.

PerFail 2024: Third International Workshop on Negative Results in Pervasive Computing -Welcome and Committees

PerFail 2024, the Third International Workshop on Negative Results in Pervasive Computing, aims to emphasize sharing negative results, lessons learned, and experiences of failed experiments in the area of pervasive computing. As a negative result, we consider studies run correctly (in the light of the current state of the art) and in good practice but fail in terms of proof of the hypothesis or come up with no significance. The "badness" of the work can also come out as a properly but unfittingly designed data collection, an unconvincing evaluation, simulation, or lapses of hindsight in measurements. When presenting the negative results and lessons learned, we aim to prevent other researchers from working on similar problems to avoid certain pitfalls and avoid wasting time and energy on approaches that do not lead to fruitful results. With the workshop, we aim to provide a forum for discussions that are not only honest with "negative" results but also highlight possible steps that should be taken to avoid future failures. Overall, the workshop aims to facilitate researchers in all areas of pervasive computing with important insights into risks due to research methodology design choices. The workshop's international program committee refereed the submitted full papers by both the quality and their relevance to the workshop theme. In total, this workshop program includes six high-quality papers that were accepted after an arduous peer-review process. The program started with the first technical session with three paper presentations. After the coffee break, the workshop then resumed with the presentations of the remaining three papers, and concluded with the keynote of Prof. Dr. Janick Edinger (University of Hamburg) followed by a lively discussion. We want to thank the program committee members for providing detailed and thoughtful reviews, thus making it possible to assemble an exciting program of high-quality papers. We are incredibly thankful for the keynote speaker who agreed to share their thoughts and experiences in the workshop. Finally, we thank all the authors and workshop attendees for their contributions and participation.

Ella Peltonen (University of Oulu, Finland), Nitinder Mohan (Technical University of Munich, Germany), Peter Zdankin (University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany), Malte Josten (University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany), Tanya Shreedar (University of Edinburgh, UK)

PerFail 2024 Organisation

General Co-Chair

Nitinder Mohan (Technical University of Munich, Germany)



Malte Josten (University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany) Ella Peltonen (University of Oulu, Finland)
Tanya Shreedhar (University of Edinburgh, United
Kingdom (Great Britain))
Peter Zdankin (University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany)

Technical Program Committee

Suzan Bayhan	University of Twente, The Netherlands	Suzan Bayhan
Javier Berrocal	University of Extremadura, Spain	Javier Berrocal
Sandip Chakraborty	Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India	Sandip Chakraborty
Jon Crowcroft	University of Cambridge, United Kingdom (Great Britain)	Jon Crowcroft
Aaron Yi Ding	TU Delft & University of Helsinki, The Netherlands	Aaron Yi Ding
Simone Ferlin	Red Hat and Karlstad University, Sweden	Simone Ferlin
Oliver Gasser	Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany	Oliver Gasser
Ralph G Holz	University of Münster, Germany & University of Twente, The Netherlands	Ralph G Holz
Malte Josten	University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany	Malte Josten
Jussi Kangasharju	University of Helsinki, Finland	Jussi Kangasharju
Roman Kolcun	University of Cambridge, United Kingdom (Great Britain)	Roman Kolcun
Nitinder Mohan	Technical University of Munich, Germany	Nitinder Mohan
Daniela Nicklas	University of Bamberg & Faculty Information Systems and Applied Computer Science, Germany	Daniela Nicklas
Jörg Ott	Technische Universität München, Germany	Jörg Ott
Ella Peltonen	University of Oulu, Finland	Ella Peltonen
Gregor Schiele	University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany	Gregor Schiele
Tanya Shreedhaa	University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom (Great Britain)	Tanya Shreedhar
Stephan Sigg	Aalto University, Finland	Stephan Sigg
Gürkan Solmaz	NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany	Gürkan Solmaz
Eirini Eleni Tsiropoulou	University of New Mexico, USA	Eirini Eleni Tsiropoulou
Torben Weis	Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany	Torben Weis
Peter Zdankin	University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany	Peter Zdankin