Searched for: collection%3Air
(81 - 100 of 43,181)

Pages

document
Dai, T. (author), Zhuang, T. (author), Yan, J. (author), Zhang, Tong (author)

The cultural attributes of architecture in touristic cities are vital to city image building, city branding, and rebranding, as well as generating more economic profits for sustainable urban development, and protecting cultural sustainability. However, many studies on this theme focus on the singularity of architecture referring to its...

journal article 2018
document
Bekebrede, G. (author), van Bueren, E.M. (author), Wenzler, I. (author)
The depletion of fossil fuel sources for our energy system and the influence on overall CO2 emissions drive the need to more sustainable energy systems. The transition towards a renewable energy system cannot be seen as a purely technical issue; it is strongly embedded within society. In this study, we analyze the stakeholder complexities of the...
journal article 2018
document
Vos, A.M. (author), Jurak, Edita (author), de Gijsel, Peter (author), Ohm, Robin A. (author), Henrissat, Bernard (author), Lugones, Luis G. (author), Kabel, Mirjam A. (author), Wösten, Han A.B. (author)

Agaricus bisporus consumes carbohydrates contained in wheat straw based compost used for commercial mushroom production. Double substituted arabinoxylan is part of the ~40% of the compost polysaccharides that are not degraded by A. bisporus during its growth and development. Genes encoding α-1,3-L-arabinofuranosidase (AXHd3) enzymes that act...

journal article 2018
document
Versantvoort, Wouter (author), Guerrero-Cruz, Simon (author), Speth, Daan R. (author), Frank, J. (author), Gambelli, Lavinia (author), Cremers, Geert (author), van Alen, Theo A. (author), Jetten, M.S.M. (author), Kartal, Boran (author), op den Camp, Huub J M (author), Reimann, Joachim (author)

Methane is a potent greenhouse gas, which can be converted by microorganism at the expense of oxygen, nitrate, nitrite, metal-oxides or sulfate. The bacterium 'Candidatus Methylomirabilis oxyfera,' a member of the NC10 phylum, is capable of nitrite-dependent anaerobic methane oxidation. Prolonged enrichment of 'Ca. M. oxyfera' with cerium...

journal article 2018
document
Liu, Nan (author), Liu, D. (author), Wang, Weifei (author), Hollmann, F. (author), Xu, Long (author), Ma, Yunjian (author), Yang, Bo (author), Bai, Weidong (author), Sun, Xiaotao (author), Wang, Yonghua (author)
α‐Linolenic acid‐rich diacylglycerol has been demonstrated with promising health promotion functions. This study examined the production, immobilization of lipase PCL, and its application in the synthesis of diacylglycerol by esterification of α‐linolenic acid with glycerol. The resin ECR8806 was selected as an effective support for the...
journal article 2018
document
Daniel, D. (author), Marks, Sara (author), Pande, S. (author), Rietveld, L.C. (author)
Household water treatment (HWT) can effectively reduce exposure to unsafe drinking water at home. Understanding the characteristics of target groups who successfully adopt HWT, such as perception about water quality and usefulness of HWT, income, or parental education, is essential for enhancing the adoption of HWT in developing countries. The...
journal article 2018
document
Oorschot, L.M. (author), Spoormans, L.G.K. (author), El Messlaki, S. (author), Konstantinou, T. (author), de Jonge, Tim (author), van Oel, C.J. (author), Asselbergs, M.F. (author), Gruis, V.H. (author), de Jonge, W. (author)
Increasing energy efficiency of the housing stock is one of the largest challenges in the built environment today. In line with the international Paris-Climate-Change-Conference 2015, Dutch municipalities and housing associations have embraced the ambition to achieve carbon neutrality for their social housing stock by 2050. However, most deep...
journal article 2018
document
Tümer, N. (author), Kok, A.C. (author), Vos, F.M. (author), Streekstra, Geert J. (author), Askeland, Christian (author), Tuijthof, G.J.M. (author), Zadpoor, A.A. (author)
A rigid surface–volume registration scheme is presented in this study to register computed tomography (CT) and free-hand tracked ultrasound (US) images of the talocrural joint. Prior to registration, bone surfaces expected to be visible in US are extracted from the CT volume and bone contours in 2D US data are enhanced based on monogenic signal...
journal article 2018
document
Vaibhav, V.K. (author)

This paper considers the non-Hermitian Zakharov-Shabat scattering problem which forms the basis for defining the SU(2)-nonlinear Fourier transform (NFT). The theoretical underpinnings of this generalization of the conventional Fourier transform is quite well established in the Ablowitz-Kaup-Newell-Segur formalism; however, efficient numerical...

journal article 2018
document
Aravind, M.A. (author), Saikumar, N. (author), Dinesh, N. S. (author), Rajanna, K. (author)

Experience mapping based predictive controller (EMPC) is a recently developed controller based on the concepts of Human Motor Control. It has been demonstrated to out-perform other classical controllers like proportional-derivative (PD), model reference based adaptive controller (MRAC), linear quadratic regulator (LQR) and the linear...

journal article 2018
document
Khakalo, Kseniia (author), Baumgarten, K. (author), Tighe, B.P. (author), Puisto, Antti (author)

Aqueous foams are an important model system that displays coarsening dynamics. Coarsening in dispersions and foams is well understood in the dilute and dry limits, where the gas fraction tends to zero and one, respectively. However, foams are known to undergo a jamming transition from a fluidlike to a solidlike state at an intermediate gas...

journal article 2018
document
Henriques da Silva, M.D. (author), Ottens, M. (author)

Liquid-liquid extraction (LLE) can be an effective strategy for the purification of polyphenols from a fermentation broth. However, solvents need to be chosen to ensure high extraction capacity and selectivity. For that purpose, a systematic study is here presented, where the partition of different polyphenols - naringin, naringenin, p...

journal article 2018
document
Versteylen, C.D. (author), Sluiter, M.H.F. (author), van Dijk, N.H. (author)

A self-consistent model is applied to predict the creep cavity growth and strain rates in metals from the perspective of self-healing. In this model, the creep cavity growth rate is intricately linked to the strain rate. The self-healing process causes precipitates to grow inside creep cavities. Due to the Kirkendall effect, a diffusional...

journal article 2018
document
Bracco Garcia, M.P. (author), Torrelo Villa, G. (author), Noordam, Sander (author), de Jong, Glenn (author), Hanefeld, U. (author)
The hydroxynitrile lyase from Prunus amygdalus was immobilized on Celite R-633. The immobilized enzyme could successfully be utilized in buffer saturated MTBE and excellent conversions of benzaldehyde to R-mandelonitrile were observed. No leaching occurred. To achieve high enantioselectivities, the suppression of the undesired background...
journal article 2018
document
Deuerlein, Jochen (author), Gilbert, Denis (author), Abraham, E. (author), Piller, Olivier (author)
In this manuscript, we consider the problem of optimally scheduling the restoration of a water distribution network with multiple failures after a disaster. The decisions made are the sequence of burst/broken pipes and leaks that need to be replaced or repaired, respectively, subject to constraints on workforce availability and physical...
conference paper 2018
document
Boersma, Q.D. (author), Hardebol, N.J. (author), Barnhoorn, A. (author), Bertotti, G. (author)

Orthogonal fracture networks form an arrangement of open well-connected fractures which have perpendicular abutment angles and sometimes show topological relations by which fracture sets abut against each other, thus forming a nested network. Previous modelling studies have shown that orthogonal fractures may be caused by a local stress...

journal article 2018
document
Digna, R.F.M.O. (author), Castro Gama, M.E. (author), van der Zaag, P. (author), Mohamed, Yasir A. (author), Corzo, Gerald (author), Uhlenbrook, S. (author)

The Eastern Nile Basin is facing a number of transboundary issues, including water resources development, and the associated impacts. The Nile Basin, particularly the Eastern Nile Sub-basin, is considered as one of a few international river systems of potential conflicts between riparian countries. The Eastern Nile is characterized by the...

journal article 2018
document
Meijers, E.J. (author), Peris, A.F.T. (author)

While there is consensus that network embeddedness of cities is of great importance for their development, the precise effect is difficult to assess because of a lack of consistent information on relations between cities. This paper presents, applies and evaluates a rather novel method to establish the strength of relationships between places...

journal article 2018
document
Schröder, E. (author)

The article uses a demand-constrained small-open-economy model in the tradition of Keynes and Kalecki to study the effects of offshoring on aggregate demand and domestic employment. Offshoring is represented as labor-saving import-using technical change. The results depend on the behavior of the markup on unit costs. If higher markups absorb...

journal article 2018
document
Sumter, Deborah (author), Bakker, C.A. (author), Balkenende, A.R. (author)
In the transition to a circular economy companies are exploring new business models, implying a shift from selling products to offering products in circular business models, such as leasing.
Product design is thought to play a crucial role in enabling this. Having a robust overview of relevant design roles and competencies is of foundational...
journal article 2018
Searched for: collection%3Air
(81 - 100 of 43,181)

Pages