Searched for: subject:"Germany"
(1 - 15 of 15)
document
Werker, C. (author), Korzinov, Vladimir (author), Cunningham, S. (author)
The development and deployment of technologies depend upon collaborations concurrently relying on proximity between partners. By employing publication data of German nanotechnology, we augment former findings on the relationship between proximity and collaboration in three ways. First, we shed light on how the various forms of proximity...
journal article 2019
document
Schröder, E. (author)
The article uses a demand-constrained small-open-economy model in the tradition of Keynes and Kalecki to study the effects of offshoring on aggregate demand and domestic employment. Offshoring is represented as labor-saving import-using technical change. The results depend on the behavior of the markup on unit costs. If higher markups absorb...
journal article 2018
document
Haffner, M. (author), Brunner, D. (author)
Cooperatives in Germany can be considered a hybrid tenure, which offers a bundle of property rights that lies in between renting and owning. Being a cooperative occupier of a dwelling should allow for more secure occupancy rights than ordinarily available to renters and less secure occupancy rights than ordinarily available to owner-occupiers....
report 2014
document
Reuschke, D. (author), Van Ham, M. (author)
The work on this paper was funded by a Marie Curie grant from the European Commission within the 7th Framework Program (ID 252752). Based on the notion that entrepreneurship is a ‘local event’, the literature argues that entrepreneurs are ‘rooted’ in place. This paper tests the ‘residential rootedness’ hypothesis of self-employment by examining...
journal article 2013
document
Reuschke, D. (author), Van Ham, M. (author)
Based on the notion that entrepreneurship is a ‘local event’, the literature argues that selfemployed workers and entrepreneurs are ‘rooted’ in place. This paper tests the ‘residential rootedness’-hypothesis of self-employment by examining for Germany and the UK whether the self-employed are less likely to move or migrate than employees. Using...
journal article 2011
document
Mulder, A. (author)
Due to the demise of traditional industry large industrial estates, often at central locations, become available for reuse. Municipalities have reacted by trying to attract new users who would need a lot of space, like big shopping centres, while strengthening the urban economy. However, these attempts have not always been successful. Also,...
conference paper 2011
document
Claessens, F. (author)
The city as an architectural construction: The architectural discours on the city At the turn of the 19th to the 20th century a paradigm shift took place within German architectural thinking that can be identified as a turn to the city. Whereas throughout the 19th century architectural knowledge was primarily directed to questions of style of...
doctoral thesis 2005
document
Ter Horst, W.L.A. (author)
This report provides a safety analysis of the ComCoast concept at Neersiel in Germany. The ComCoast concept is to use a wide coastal area for water defence purposes. The wide coastal area can be referred to as a coastal defence zone. The primary dike will be provided with a overtopping resistant revetment allowing more seawater to overtop the...
report 2005
document
Ahlhorn, F. (author)
The methods of participation used within coastal protection management projects in Germany are well established. The first part of this report summarizes the certain methods in a figure. The appendix comprises a list of certain projects. This report gives no detailed description and evaluation of participation methods. In Germany, there exists a...
report 2005
document
Ahlhorn, F. (author)
This report gives a short overview about the experiences of participation in coastal protection projects in Germany. The report gives no detailed description and evaluation of participation methods. In Germany, there exists a minor experience with participation in coastal protection projects. Much greater experience resulted from projects which...
report 2005
document
Van Ham, M. (author), Büchel, F. (author)
We analyze the effects of regional structures on both females’ willingness to work and the probability of being employed for those willing to work. Special permission was granted to link regional data to individual respondents in the German Socio-Economic Panel (GSOEP). Results of a bivariate probit model correcting for sample selection show...
journal article 2004
document
Sunikka, M. (author)
book 2001
document
Mierlo, M.C.L.M. van (author), Passchier, R.H. (author)
report 1998
document
Anonymous, N.N. (author)
Maps of the Rhine section between Basel and Mainz including the flood defence system.
report 1994
document
Zwolsman, J.J.G. (author)
report 1994
Searched for: subject:"Germany"
(1 - 15 of 15)